Where To Stay Logo

Ziggy's River Cottage and Den's View

ALL TIME AVERAGE
5/5
Based on 37 reviews
since November 2015
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
LAST 6 MONTHS AVERAGE
5/5
Based on 7 reviews
since August 2021
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
08 Nov 2021
5/5 "Relaxing weekend "
Louise G.
From Sandton , South Africa
Visited in November, 2021
1 review
 
Was a wonderful weekend, relaxing and serene. Loved the walking trails and relaxing by the pool. The scenery from the bedroom was beautiful, everything lush and green. Perfect getaway. Will definitely be back

Owner response : (2021-11-09)
Thank you so much Louis. Look forward to your repeat visit.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
15 Oct 2021
5/5 "Fantastic Place"
Kevin X.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in October, 2021
1 review
 
It’s a wonderful weekend break for us. Enjoy the sun and fresh air, even saw the shooting star 3 times at the first night. Very relaxing under the starlight!

Half day trail is good experience, just following the river with nice bank view. And lots of birds arounds.

Owner is pretty nice, mini kitchen fully serviced. Thanks Ziggy gives the chance to share this wonderland.

Owner response : (2021-10-18)
Thank you Kevin & Helen for the appreciation of nature. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed it all.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
10 Oct 2021
4.5/5 "Amazing "
Pontsho M.
From Pretoria , South Africa
Visited in October, 2021
1 review
 
Ziggy's River Cottage was breathtaking. Great service offered at the facilities at a reasonable price.
Waking up in the morning to the sounds of birds by the river was a stand out for me.

Truly enjoyed my stay.



Owner response : (2021-10-11)
Hi Pontsho thank you so much for your stay & enjoying the facilities.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
30 Sep 2021
5/5 "Ziggy the best"
Johan D.
From Centurion, South Africa
Visited in September, 2021
1 review
 
Ziggys accommodation is worth all the stars you can wish. Fully kitted and more with excellent personal touch. A must stay.

Owner response : (2021-10-01)
Thank you Johan & Grieta for staying with us. Enjoyed our chat very much.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
14 Sep 2021
5/5 "An idyllic weekend"
Samantha N.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in September, 2021
1 review
 
We had a tranquil and much needed weekend away in Ziggi's picturesque River Cottage. It was quiet, warm, inviting and well kitted out. We were able to braai, rest, read and walk to our hearts content. And able to do so just over an hour away from our Johannesburg home. Would recommend to anyone seeking a calming and inviting space to spend a weekend or longer.

Owner response : (2021-09-15)
Thank you so much Sam& Laura for your visit. Glad you got the well deserved rest & ready for town action again. Come again.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
02 Sep 2021
5/5 "Awesome weekend at Ziggy’s River Cottage"
Sandi S.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in August, 2021
1 review
 
Lovely location and cottage. Ziggy is a great host. Thank you Ziggy. We look forward to coming back for another awesome weekend

Owner response : (2021-09-06)
Hi Sandi it was great having you. Look forward to your next visit.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
06 Aug 2021
5/5 "Me and the Den's View Couch"
Annelie S.
From Heidelberg , South Africa
Visited in July, 2021
2 reviews
 
Having stayed at Den's View before I made another booking for a relaxing get away. I was soo excited to visit my old friend the purple couch in the Den's View room! And I was not disappointed. Friendly hosts, beautifil view and peaceful atmosphere welcomed me back. If you need privacy and relaxation this is the place for you!!

Owner response : (2021-09-06)
Hi Annelie so happy you enjoyed the purple couch again. Your comment makes me smile. Love your repeated stays.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
17 May 2021
5/5 "Ziggy’s River Cottqge"
Neo Brenolia S.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in May, 2021
1 review
 
My boyfriend and I needed an escape from the busy city life as well as our work schedule. This was the perfect place. The network coverage was questionable and that’s exactly what we needed. The rooms were nice and spacious, the scenery was gorgeous. Even went out for a picnic and we loved it. The outside shower was amazing . Ziggy had all the utensils and more than What most places offer . I would recommend it for a romantic get away. I will deeply e back again. Thank you so much Ziggy

Owner response : (2021-05-17)
Hi Neo thank you so much. Glad you well rested and ready for town life again.Look forward to your next visit.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
05 Apr 2021
5/5 "Dens view"
Louis H.
From Benoni, South Africa
Visited in April, 2021
1 review
 
Had a wonderful quiet stay at Dens View garden unit. Enjoyed the bird life and surroundings.
The unit was well equipped with all the trimmings.

Owner response : (2021-04-06)
Thank you Loui for sharing some of your walk experience you had. Lucky to have seen the porcupine as he is very shy.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
23 Mar 2021
4/5 "River cottage an Absolute dream! "
Yanda M.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in March, 2021
1 review
 
Thank you Ziggy for your warm welcome. River cottage is a clean and safe gem. The info booklet was our favourite feature along with the walking trail. The splash pool was a bonus. Definitely will be seeing you again.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2021-03-24)
Hi Yanda happy you enjoyed all the facilities we had to offer. Look forward to your next stay.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 3/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
17 Jan 2021
5/5 "Ziggy River Cottage"
Lumko P.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in January, 2021
1 review
 
We had a very therapeutic stay at Ziggy’s river cottage. It’s very peaceful and we loved the sounds of the wildlife. The place is well equipped for self catering and complaint of the COVID 19 protocols.The booking process was very smooth, thanks to Ziggy.

Owner response : (2021-01-18)
Thank you Lumko for staying with us. ????????
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
04 Jan 2021
5/5 "TRANQUIL GEM"
Julie V.
Visited in January, 2021
1 review
 
River Cottage is a hidden jewel which is spotless and fully equipped with more than needed. The environment is Tranquil with beautiful gardens and surrounding trails.

Owner response : (2021-01-05)
Thank you Julie we enjoyed having you. See you soon.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
28 Dec 2020
5/5 "Densviev"
Den M.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in December, 2020
1 review
 
We had a wonderful stay at Dens-view. The garden unit is full equipped & and the evening by the fire was just great. Explored the 12 mm cycling/walking trail.We be back.

Owner response : (2021-01-05)
So great you explored the big property. Thank you.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
22 Dec 2020
5/5 "Nature's best"
Marissa M.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in December, 2020
1 review
 
Comfortable accommodation, friendly owners, fireflies, kingfishers and rabbits - all came together for a wonderful, quiet mid week breakaway.

Owner response : (2021-01-05)
Thank you Marissa so glad you enjoyed your days at Den’sView.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
06 Nov 2020
5/5 "Ziggy’s Cottage"
Yolande V.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in October, 2020
1 review
 
Had such a relaxed weekend. Ziggy is a wonderful host and they made us feel welcome. Soul has been restored. Thank you for a peaceful weekend!

Owner response : (2020-11-09)
thank you so much for your stay. we loved having you. Ziggy & Team
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
05 Nov 2020
4.5/5 "Superb"
Christa D.
From Pretoria, South Africa
Visited in November, 2020
1 review
 
Ziggy's riverside cottage was the perfect place for my husband and I to relax and recharge. The property is sooooo beautiful and tranquil with Nature all around. We loved spending time outdoors next to the river, walking, bird watching and at night listening to the frogs sing. This is truly a little piece of heaven. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need. We can't wait to come back

Owner response : (2020-11-07)
Hi Christa & Gavin thank you so much for staying at the ziggysriver cottage. We loved having you as you enjoyed all the nature around you. People like you are so welcome. Look forward to your next visit.
 
Sleep Quality 3/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Sep 2020
4/5 "Den's View"
Natasha B.
From Pretoria, South Africa
Visited in September, 2020
1 review
 
What a beautiful place away from city, so peaceful and quiet. Room are clean and have everything you need. We loved the trail. The outdoor shower was nice but would have loved to be in pool ????.

Owner response : (2020-11-07)
Hi Natasha thank you for staying at Den’sView & exploring the big property. A splash pool is on the cards for the future.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 3/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 3/5
Value 3/5
Cleanliness 5/5
14 Sep 2020
5/5 "A safe, private haven "
A S.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in September, 2020
1 review
 
Ziggy's river and den represents safe haven for me, they i places i go to, when i feel overwhelmed and about to give up in a lot of ways... The owner Ziggy, very friendly, has always made sure she does her part in making me feel welconed, i love the yard, the walking trail within is awesome. That place is a gem, i would always go there feeling low, but come out there feelings on top of the world, looking forward to more... Thre rooms are clean, service is always outstanding... I will always come back for more

Owner response : (2020-11-07)
Hi A . You have been coming to us ( River Cottage & Den’sView )now for quiet a few times over the years and it is always nice to see you & have a chat. See you soon.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
02 Aug 2020
5/5 "Dens View"
Mike O.
From Randpark Ridge, South Africa
Visited in July, 2020
1 review
 
A true piece of paradise. Quiet and tranquil with stunning river and mountain views. Ziggy is a wonderful host and has great attention to detail in the flat. Will definitely be back again.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
30 Jul 2020
5/5 "Beautiful tranquility"
Niel d.
From South Africa
Visited in July, 2020
1 review
 
The river cottage is a wonderful find! Sitting up on the bank it has a lovely view of the stream from the veranda. The cottage is beautiful and well equipped. A bit chilly in winter, but it has all the heaters, electric blankets and hot water bottles needed to ward off the cold!

This is an ideal place to unwind and is also a bird watcher's paradise.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
26 Jul 2020
5/5 "Awesome weekend getaway"
Clyde E.
From Olivedale, South Africa
Visited in July, 2020
1 review
 
What an amazing relaxing getaway for a weekend. The Den had everything we needed. Lovely hiking trail and pinic spots along the magalies river. Feel totally relaxed after the weekend. Thank you Ziggy
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
26 Jul 2020
5/5 "Nature on your doorstep"
Leon M.
From Pretoria, South Africa
Visited in July, 2020
1 review
 
Great getaway if you need to get out of suburbia (and it’s in Gauteng). Great to sit with a wood-fire under the stars and in the morning the birdlife around the chalet is great. Love the little purpose built “sunbed” in the bedroom where the windows offer a great view while warming in the winter sun.

Awesome walks next to the river and interesting to walk through the cut path through bamboos. If you mountain bike there is a not too difficult route that takes you around the property (around 8 -10 km I believe).

The cottage had a lot more within than we were expecting from utensils to ear buds and toothpicks if you forgot those.

I picked up a Herman Charles Bosman book which gave me some chuckles in the evening (a decent range of books from fiction to non fiction).

I would love to visit in the summer when the river will be flowing more, the greens will be greener and the splash pool on the deck (it looks like a jacuzzi) will be stunning with a cold one in hand!

Very clean and tidy with the largest, warmest bed I encountered in a chalet to date.

Give this place a try, it’ll refresh mind and soul.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
05 Jul 2020
5/5 "We had a great stay"
Bruce A.
From Jhb, South Africa
Visited in July, 2020
1 review
 
Just what we needed. Dry well equipped and overlooking the water. Great braai area for two. Found a nice picnic spot as well.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
24 Jun 2020
5/5 "Densview"
Margie V.
From South Africa
Visited in June, 2020
1 review
 
A charming well equipped Comfortable unit looking onto Nature.
A Weekend getaway with nature walks and mountain bike trails along the river.

Owner response : (2020-11-07)
Hi Margie & John it was so lovely meeting you. Hubby brought his bike to explore our in - house 12 km trail. Perfect. Come again soon.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
14 Jan 2020
5/5 "Beautiful place to stay"
Rachel H.
From Kathu, South Africa
Visited in January, 2020
1 review
 
Beautiful place to stay, clean, cosey, fully equipped. The surrounding is beautiful and green. Perfect place to relax. There is nice walking routes around the cottage. The booking and book in worked without any problems. Just smooth.
The kingsize bed sleeps like a dream.
Would highly recommend this place anytime.
Thanks for the stay we will definitely be back.

Vielen Dank für die Gastfreundschaft, es ist ein wundervoller Ort zum Entspannen. Wir kommen definitiv zurück.

Rachel und Herman
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
03 Dec 2019
5/5 "Soulfood"
Roelien M.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in November, 2019
1 review
 
The tranquility of Ziggy’s river cottage is just revitalizing. It is a place away from home where you can just relax and recharge. The place is beautiful and equipped with everything you need. We have been there 3 times and every time we are warmly welcomed.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Nov 2019
5/5 "A serene long weekend "
Elmien B.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in November, 2019
1 review
 
We really needed to rest. The river cottage in it's beautiful setting allowed us to sleep and we stayed on the easy chairs on the patio with our binoculars most of the time. Beautiful birds, squirrels, bunnies and an iguana kept us entertained. I left a toy dinosaur and Ziggy found and returned him to me two days after we left. Much appreciated. This was our second, but not our last visit.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Jul 2019
4.5/5 "Away from the City"
Janice C.
From Gauteng, South Africa
Visited in July, 2019
1 review
 
It was a lovely stay.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
17 Jul 2019
5/5 "Just perfect!"
Maria P.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in July, 2019
2 reviews
 
If there were more stars I would give more! We have been so many times it feels like home. I don’t want to share it with too many people as I feel like it’s ours! Such a perfect retreat less than an hour from Jhb! So much care and thought has been been put into the cottage and the entire property with thanks to two special people - Dennis and Ziggy. You have created our Utopia and we will be back for more!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
17 Jul 2019
5/5 "Solitude and Peace"
Annelie S.
From Heidelberg , South Africa
Visited in July, 2019
2 reviews
 
Experience is 90% feeling and emotion, my experience at Ziggy's Den was exactly what I needed... Peace, solitude, relaxation. From checking in until I packed my car to leave for home I had a wonderful time. Thank you Ziggy, will see you again, God bless
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
25 Feb 2019
5/5 "Weekend Getaway"
Kate M.
From Johannesburg , South Africa
Visited in February, 2019
1 review
 
The River Cottage is a very beautiful, serene and private place, with spectacular views. We had the most amazing weekend there, very relaxing from the daily routine of the city life. The cottage is well equipped with all the necessities, pity it rained all weekend when we there so we never got to experience the trail and having a braai was a mission, but for this reason we will definitely be back for that experience soon. Thank you Ziggy for creating this marvelous home away from home, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Mar 2018
4/5 "Relax in this tranquil setting."
Izak v.
Visited in March, 2018
1 review
 
Not our first time here and definitely not our last time.
Peaceful and quiet with a great view and close to so many cool places in the Magaliesberg.
Recommended.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 3/5
Cleanliness 5/5
23 Jul 2017
5/5 "Lovely weekend break"
Inge S.
From Pretoria , South Africa
Visited in July, 2017
1 review
 
What a great little place to spend the weekend. The cottage has everything one could need and a great view of the river. We really enjoyed the walking trail on the property.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
17 Jan 2017
5/5 "Lovely couple cottage"
Sue S.
Visited in January, 2017
1 review
 
What a lovely cottage for a romantic getaway for a couple. Beautiful gardens fantastic bird life, clean and welcoming. Pity the jacuzzi wasn't working, real shame.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
18 Jan 2016
5/5 "Tranquil and Cosy"
Hayley L.
From Roodepoort, South Africa
Visited in January, 2016
1 review
 
Ziggy's River Cottage is a true little gem. My husband and I enjoyed a much needed night away to recharge our batteries. The cottage was extremely comfortable, cosy and welcoming, as well as fully equipped. The peace and tranquility there is hugely underestimated. We will definitely come back and hopefully stay longer the next time.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
04 Jan 2016
5/5 "Peace and Tranquility"
Alma P.
From Randburg, South Africa
Visited in December, 2015
1 review
 
Wow! This cottage is pure relaxation! Situated on a riverbank, you overlook a 'forest' of trees and bamboos. The covered patio is perfect for reading a book or having a meal. The cottage is lovely decorated with a humongous bedroom. Loved all the storage nooks and crannies.

Kitchen is small but with a microwave and 2-plate stove, who needs more?

Absolutely love the fact that the owners have all genres of books in the bookcase. Although I mostly read on my IPad, I did enjoy one of the books.

The cottage is close enough to Hartbeespoort if you want to drive around. We literally parked our vehicle on Thursday, 24/12/2015 and started it again on Sunday, 27/12/2015.

Only little drawback ... the speed bumps on the gravel road is quite high, so a low car may have a problem.

If peace and tranquility close to Randburg is what you're looking for, choose the River Cottage.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
03 Nov 2015
4.5/5 "Awesome"
Yvette A.
Visited in November, 2015
1 review
 
Awesome place ! Will stay there again for sure ! Hostess was excellent. If you wanna get away from it all then this is the place to visit !
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5