Where To Stay Logo

Mei-Pen-Lai

ALL TIME AVERAGE
4/5
Based on 4 reviews
since September 2015
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 4.5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 4.5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
No data available.
25 Feb 2021
4.5/5 "Charming, comfortable, peaceful stay right on the beach "
Linda B.
From Pretoria East, South Africa
Visited in February, 2021
1 review
 
We were looking for a peaceful, welcoming home-from-home rather than a cubicle in the concrete timeshare jungle – somewhere affordable where we'd be close enough to the ocean to hear the surf break. At Mei-Pen-Lai, you step across a quiet street right onto the beach, with top-class restaurants just around the corner. What a pleasure to join the regular crowd of joggers and walkers, cool down in a safe, natural tidal pool on the way back, and then drift off in a recliner with a snatch of ocean peaking through the gate posts. Our host, Rory, went out of his way to ensure things went smoothly. I can highly recommend this charming place with its unique ambience and relaxed setting – it is an excellent choice within its price bracket.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
13 Nov 2018
5/5 "Peaceful Paradise"
Moyra D.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in November, 2018
1 review
 
I spent three nights in this setting which is just as beautiful as it looks in the photo. Loved the suite, with its poppy bed - so comfortable - ideal for dreaming in. Could cross the road to the beach and the sea in the early morning and evening. Lovely Thai garden to relax in on the sun-chairs provided. Kitchen comfortable for cooking in but the guesthouse is close to restaurants so could either cook, eat out or bring home - and it felt like home.

The host was a peaceful presence, and he ensured that I had all that I wanted or needed.

Above all, I loved the tranquillity of Mei-Pen-Lai and am looking forward to visiting again.

Owner response : (2018-11-16)
Thank you Moyra , you are so welcome !
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
13 Nov 2018
4.5/5 "Stay at Mei-Pen-Lai"
Kevin R.
From umhlanga, South Africa
Visited in November, 2018
1 review
 

I searched where to stay and found Mei-Pen-Lei and sent inquiry. Rory the owner (very hospitable) contacted me. On arriving found location to be breath taking as it is on the beach. Security fantastic as it is near road closure with guard at night. I compared apples with apples and found it to be best value for money on Umdloti coast line and would recommend this venue as a must stay. I also found 6 restaurants within walking distance 200m, which made a great difference to my stay as i did not have to drive a vehicle

Owner response : (2018-11-16)
Thanks Kev, you are a lovely tenant
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
15 Sep 2015
2/5 "My stay at Mei Pen Lai"
Babu M.
Visited in August, 2015
1 review
 
The rectangular wooden base protrudes dangerously beyond the mattress. The television was too small.

Owner response : (2018-11-13)
The rectangular wooden base is the Thai style opium bed , it is the nature of the Thai/Balinese furniture design . This is a Thai style house based on traditional Thai architecture and furniture . The TV was a temporary spare, the previous tenant having malfunctioned the original. Larger TV's are standard in all suites.
 
Sleep Quality 2/5
Location 3/5
Rooms 2/5
Service 2/5
Value 2/5
Cleanliness 2/5