Where To Stay Logo

Wilson's Beach Cottage

ALL TIME AVERAGE
5/5
Based on 34 reviews
since July 2015
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 4.5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
No data available.
02 May 2021
5/5 "Best beach break for families"
Lucie O.
From Stellenbosch on R44 opposite Cloetesville, South Africa
Visited in May, 2021
1 review
 
Wilson’s Cottage is one of those places that on one hand you want to shout about it to the world, and on the other, keep it a secret so that you don’t have to share it! It has all the ingredients to create the perfect family beach getaway. Located right on the dunes, with beach and sea views from the upper deck and master bedroom, an amazing lower deck and outdoor entertaining area, and a modern, tastefully decorated interior. It is equipped with everything you could need while on holiday, a separate TV room for the kids, indoor fireplace for when it’s cold, even a hot outside shower for when you come off the beach from a surf or boogy board! Thank you Bonny for opening your home to us! Cape St Francis has become an annual holiday for us and I can’t wait to come back.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2021-05-03)
Thanks Lucie - I'm so pleased you had a wonderful stay with your precious family and friends again! That's what memories are made of! We can't wait to welcome you back again!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
16 Mar 2021
5/5 "Wilson Beach Cottage"
Alison C.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in March, 2021
1 review
 
What a beautiful home in the most amazing location. It was difficult to leave and we really hope to be back soon.

Owner response : (2021-03-18)
We would love to welcome you back with the new deck in place!!!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
23 Feb 2021
5/5 "Paradise found at Wilson’s Beach Cottage"
Kerry S.
From East London , South Africa
Visited in February, 2021
1 review
 
Whether you like to run trails, cycle, paddle, surf or just chill on the silky sand with the turquoise water twinkling at your toes and the iconic lighthouse within view, this cosy spot has no rival. It offers all the modern amenities you would expect in a clean and luxurious home away from home. The rooms are pretty and functionally inviting with bathrooms aplenty and the kitchen and living area are tastefully well-equipped. Beautiful decks offer both sea vistas and ample place to entertain. And if you are too lazy to cook, coffee shops and restaurants abound within a very short range. You will find yourself wanting to return to this cottage. Again and again.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2021-02-26)
Lovely to have you stay in our paradise!!!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
23 Feb 2021
5/5 "Cottage stay "
Melani S.
From East London , South Africa
Visited in February, 2021
1 review
 
Excellent location with direct beach access. Spacious living areas, well equipped kitchen and beautiful bathrooms. Lovely outdoor braai. We’ve spent a lot of time on the deck overlooking the ocean. Enjoyed running and cycling in the reserves and surrounding areas - very safe and versatile.
Busy planning my next stay.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2021-02-26)
So special that you could get a quick "taste" of this sporting paradise!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
22 Feb 2021
5/5 "Perfect Beach Cottage."
John W.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in February, 2021
1 review
 
Wilson's beach cottage is exactly that. A cottage on the beach. Your own private walkway and a few metres you're on one of the most beautiful beaches in South Africa. Excellent surf spots and endless beach walks. Whether you're a mountain biker, runner or a walker there is no shortage of safe clean paths to do your activities.
The cottage is perfect for just a single couple or with 5 bedrooms invite your friends. Clean and well laid out with a relaxing sheltered outside braai area with plenty space for entertaining.
Coffee shops, restaurants, bars and bakeries are all within a short drive or in some cases a short walk away. I will definitely be back.


Owner response : (2021-02-26)
You are just going to have to come back with Harley!!!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
03 Jan 2021
4.5/5 "Beautiful beach cottage"
Steve H.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in December, 2020
1 review
 
We just spent a wonderfully relaxing week at Wilson’s Beach Cottage. We were three couples with six small kids and it was perfect. Direct beach access is a huge plus but our favourite was the beautiful, secluded lower deck and braai area. While the adults could unwind and relax, the kids could be entertained in the nearby TV room. The cottage itself was clean and spacious and Bonny the host was great, friendly and helpful at all times. We would definitely go back ;)

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
09 Dec 2020
5/5 "The most wonderful beach cottage ever"
Dana d.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in November, 2020
1 review
 
We spent 10 days in the most beautiful, well equipped beach house. It has plenty of space and a wonderful view, which means that one is quite happy to stay where you are and relax...with no desire to go anywhere! We could sit on the balcony watching the crashing waves or birdlife all around us, while our kids could energetically run back and forth to the beach.

Regardless of the weather, there is always something to do. The deck area is sheltered in the Westerly winds, which means we could still braai when the beach become unpleasant. We also enjoyed a sheltered hike to the port on a day too windy for the beach.

The Wilson's beach cottage is our families BEST holiday destination! We highly recommend it.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2020-12-09)
Thanks Dana - we are so pleased you enjoyed our revamped holiday gem and created special memories you will cherish forever!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
10 Nov 2020
5/5 "3 night stay"
Bruce THOMPSON B.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in November, 2020
1 review
 
Amazing stay at this beautiful beach cottage.
4 couples was extremely comfortable.
Some of the highlights include the location with private beach path, unbelievable braai and entertainment area.
Will definitely be back!

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2020-11-11)
Fantastic Bruce - I'm glad you created special memories and of course that the surf was great!!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
24 Jan 2020
5/5 "A little paradise "
Michelle B.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in December, 2019
1 review
 
Our family stayed at the Wilson's Beach Cottage for a week in December. Cape St Francis can get very busy in December - but this house, which is right on the beach, tucked behind a sand dune, planted with lovely indigenous vegetation, was a quiet, secluded and perfect place to rest, restore and revive. The house is spacious and well appointed. The deck at the braai area is wind protected and shady on hot days - perfect to read and relax. The top deck provides a lovely view over the beach. The kitchen is well equipped and the open plan dining lounge kitchen area makes for great entertaining and large family meals. The beds are great and so too is the linen. This is a very special house which I recommend to anyone who wishes to holiday in comfort.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
21 Jan 2020
5/5 "Fantastic stay"
Erica S.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in January, 2020
1 review
 
We were a large group of people over New Year at Wilsons Beach Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay- adults and children alike. The cottage is spacious- it is suitable to a large group like we were, but couples or a small family will still find it cosy. It is squeaky clean and very well appointed. The location right on the beautiful beach makes it a haven for walkers, runners, surfers, fisherman and bathers- and the hot outside shower sorts out sandy feet. The sheltered braai under the milkwoods is a joy and if you must, theres are two restaurants just down the road. Highly recommended!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
21 Jan 2020
4/5 "Wilson's Beach Cottage Cape St Francis"
Elize W.
From Pretoria, South Africa
Visited in December, 2019
1 review
 
We spent a week at the Wilson's Beach Cottage in December. Fantastic location as it was literally on the beach. The views from the first floor deck are wonderful. As we were 10 people in the house we made use of a lady daily with the name of Jocelyn to help with the cleaning. She is very reliable. Thanks Bonny for supplying us with all the information about the area and the house.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 4/5
Cleanliness 3/5
27 Feb 2019
5/5 "Alan H from Centurion Gauteng"
Alan H.
From Centurion, South Africa
Visited in February, 2019
1 review
 
We stayed at Wilson's Beach Cottage for a couple of days during February and just want to compliment the owners of this cottage for providing such a wonderful place to stay when visiting Cape St Francis.
Cottage has all the amenities that you could wish for and a special braai area. Another bonus is the close proximity of the excellent beach
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
13 Feb 2019
5/5 "Woñderful weekend "
alison g.
Visited in February, 2019
1 review
 
We had a fabulous weekend. There were ten of us staying but the house easily accommodated all of us. The location was perfect literally on the beach. However the weather was poor so we couldn't enjoy the beach or the braai area as we had hoped.
However the lounge was convivial.
We visited the nearby pub and restaurant and at a stumbling distance we enjoyed the friendly warm service.
Thank you Bonny. Everyone enjoyed the cottage.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
01 Feb 2019
4.5/5 "A dream holiday cottage"
MICHELLE B.
From Cape town, South Africa
Visited in February, 2019
1 review
 
We spent a week at the Wilson's Beach Cottage in December. Fantastic location. Lovely well apportioned house. Comfortable beds. The view from the top deck is beautiful. And the milkwood shade on the bottom deck is the best place to read. I cant recommend it more highly.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 3/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
15 Mar 2018
5/5 "Paradise found"
Rayne H.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in March, 2018
1 review
 
We stayed at this amazing home for the first time in 2016 and were so blown away by every last little thing about Wilson's beach cottage, that we didn't hesitate to return for our annual family vacation this year. The location couldn't be better, the furnishings, equipment are of excellent standard and are super comfy, it is really like a luxury home away from home, an ideal place to take your family on a relaxing vacation without skimping on quality. We are totally in love with the place. Thank you to Bonny for everything.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2018-03-27)
We are so pleased you had such a special family time Rayne - Wilson's Beach Cottage is a hidden gem and real food for the soul! Hope to see you all back again for more special memories!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
15 Mar 2018
4.5/5 "Beach Cottage"
Vanessa M.
From Knysna, South Africa
Visited in March, 2018
1 review
 
We loved staying at Wilson's Beach Cottage. It was spacious, clean and right on the beach. All facilities you would need. Wish we could have stayed longer. It was so awesome and will be back again. Thank you.

Owner response : (2018-03-27)
Thanks Vanessa - I'm glad you enjoyed it like so many others!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 3/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
11 Mar 2018
5/5 "Private bliss"
Christopher G.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in February, 2018
1 review
 
My wife and I went to Cape St Francis looking for a week of relaxation at one of South Africa's most beautiful beaches and Wilson's cottage was the PERFECT choice! With the beach connected to the cottage by just a short path over a dune, it felt as though we had our own private beach. Sunset dinners on the dunes and pre-breakfast swims followed by an outside shower reinforced the feeling. The access to activities and restaurants was a massive plus, whether it was running trails or eating out at the cafe's and restaurants of St Francis Bay. The cottage itself is the perfect combination of trendy beach house and home-style comfort, with open plan living, plenty of beautifully furnished bedrooms, an extensive balcony with unbelievable sea views and a large, sheltered deck with a built-in braai. We cannot wait to go back for another holiday; hopefully for an even longer stay and with the whole extended family because the cottage could comfortably house us all. If you want a beach holiday to beat all the rest, look no further!

Owner response : (2018-03-27)
Thanks Chris and Jen - Wilson's Beach Cottage is waiting for the full extended family to return and share in creating special memories in a spot that can truly only be called " a slice of paradise!"
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
09 Oct 2017
4.5/5 "A cosy home with an excellent location !!!"
MOHAMED CASSIM P.
Visited in October, 2017
1 review
 
Private access to the beach on your doorstep - 10/10.
Safety with the grandkids - hurrying on to the beach on their own - 10/10.
A lovely beach - flat as a pancake, and great for walks -10/10.
A homely place to stay...you can be forgiven to think that you are at your own home, with all the conveniences.
The slow combustion fire place was a boon for some of the chilly evenings.
A separate T.V. lounge was ideal for the kido's.
Kids loved the outdoor hot shower.
Angie was on hand,whenever we needed her.
Martha, was like your very own domestic helper.
Everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and had a great holiday.
The large home was ideal for our VERY LARGE family.!!!
Planning on another holiday...........already.

This review was edited by WhereToStay.co.za staff.

Owner response : (2017-10-11)
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hidden "gem" like so many others !
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
27 Jul 2017
4.5/5 "Glorious Winter Beach Holiday!"
Bernice v.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in July, 2017
1 review
 
I can highly recommend the Wilson's Cottage to anyone that likes a beach holiday, even in winter! The location cannot get better, and we loved the fact that we could wake up to the beauty of the sea and be able to literally walk right onto the beach! The cottage soaked up the sun during the day and at night we could enjoy the well placed fireplace for extra warmth. Winter also brings good surf and we will definitely be back, in the not too distant future!

Owner response : (2017-10-11)
Great that you could use the Cottage over that period for special family time!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 3/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Jul 2017
5/5 "Beach Cottage"
Stephen C.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in July, 2017
1 review
 
Tucked away behind the sand dunes this thatch cottage has the charm, warmth and character befitting st. Francis. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a well laid out house, with all the amenities required. Just off the beach, so ease of access to the waves, and away from the masses!

Owner response : (2017-10-11)
Thanks Stephen - we are pleased you enjoyed the access to the beach and privacy!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
26 Jul 2017
5/5 "Wilsons Beach Cottage"
Charl v.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in July, 2017
1 review
 
Nestled right behind the sand dunes of the beautiful Cape st Francis beach and a few steps away from the beach and sea, no better place to relax or take part in your favourite sea or beach activity. Lovely walks both in the reserve and village on your doorstep too. A very close walk to a popular pub (Rock Lilly) and the local resort restaurant too! The house is well appointed with EVERTYHING you need. Loads of space in the living rooms and bedrooms (great linen too), and if sharing, privacy is great too. Last but not least, the outdoor deck and braai area is truly magnificent .... beautiful padded cushions on long benches to relax and read a book adjacent to a very well appointed braai place. This is our 2nd visit and will be back again.

Owner response : (2017-10-11)
Thanks Charl - you are welcome any time!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 4/5
28 Apr 2017
5/5 "Beach bliss"
Andre v.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in April, 2017
1 review
 
A lovely thatched home nestled on the dunes of the magnificent Cape St Francis beach. Perfect for relaxing and taking in the views and tranquillity or for getting active with all the outdoor activities on offer. Lots of accommodation for the extended family or friends. Great outdoor living with decks and a braai area and a fire place to cosy up to in the evenings. Our perfect getaway place to be.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
27 Mar 2017
4.5/5 "Great home from home "
Michelle B.
From Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Visited in March, 2017
1 review
 
Thank you so much Bonny for the wonderful stay. Everything we needed was provided to make a comfortable stay. Beautiful place in stunning surroundings. Love the bench overlooking the beach for early morning tea or coffee! Awesome braai area for warm evening braai's. Great attention to detail. I would proudly recommend your place.
Thank you!
Michelle Braithwaite
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 4/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
31 Jan 2017
5/5 "Reveiw on Wilson's Beach Cottage Cape St Francis"
John P.
From Centurion, South Africa
Visited in January, 2017
1 review
 
The cottage is exquisite and contained everything we needed for a great and comfortable holiday. Everything was in perfect working order, clean and neat. Access to the beach and the private nature of the cottage is a huge advantage.

We would love to have the opportunity to return some day and repeat the great experience.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
26 Sep 2016
5/5 "A weekend stay at Wilson's Beach Cottage"
Shayne W.
From Freeway Park , South Africa
Visited in August, 2016
1 review
 
A beautiful cottage in a magnificent setting. Wonderfully equipped and clean. Most amazing living spaces with excellent views and access to the beach.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
04 Sep 2016
5/5 "Little Piece of Heaven"
Jane M.
Visited in August, 2016
1 review
 
Well situated, comfortable, well stocked with kitchen equipment, comfortable beds. Secluded, sheltered braai area, hop, skip and a jump to the beach. Once at this home you don't want to leave - very peaceful. Lovely indoor fire for chilly nights. Definitely will be planning another stay.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 4/5
Cleanliness 5/5
29 Aug 2016
5/5 "A little piece of paradise"
Lucille v.
From east london, South Africa
Visited in July, 2016
1 review
 
The house is beautifully appointed and boasts everything you need for a relaxing beach get away! It is tucked behind the sandunes which provides the awesome deck/bbq area great protection from the sea breeze while still allowing one easy beach access via a private pathway.(The kids loved the hot outdoor shower when they came out of the surf!)
We will definately be back for another get away - thank you!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
15 Jun 2016
5/5 "Fantastic time away"
Kaylynn G.
From Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Visited in June, 2016
1 review
 
What an amazing time a few friends and I had at the cottage. All facilities were perfect and the setting was amazing. I wish I could stay there forever!

Thank you Bonny for sharing your amazing cottage with us!!!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
05 Aug 2015
5/5 "Wilson's Beach House"
Kelly B.
From Perth, Australia
Visited in October, 2014
1 review
 
Had a family reunion/celebration in this beautiful home....and the whole experience was magnificent. From the location, amenities, views, choice of rooms, outdoor shower, braai.....and the list goes on. Enjoyed the house so much we tried to rebook for our next trip, but it was booked out. Not surprising, but will be back. Bonny was a pleasure to deal with.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
03 Aug 2015
5/5 "Wonderful Stay - Every need catered for!"
Chantel B.
From Knysna, South Africa
Visited in April, 2015
1 review
 
We visited the Wilson Beach House in April and enjoyed every moment of our stay. The house exceeded our expectations and the location was simply divine. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the fireplace in the lounge was such a treat. The table on the balcony was great for early morning coffee with a view. The outside braai area was great for socializing/relaxing and it was wonderful hearing the ocean in the background. Bonny was an absolute pleasure to deal with. I can highly recommend this establishment. We will definitely visited again soon!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
31 Jul 2015
5/5 "Paradise"
Surette M.
From East London, South Africa
Visited in July, 2015
1 review
 
Wow! Everything about our holiday was awesome. Bonny was fantastic to deal with in organizing our booking and was very helpful with all our queries. The cottage is incredible and in an amazing location. We keep going back!
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
30 Jul 2015
4.5/5 "Wilsons Beach Cottage"
Roger C.
From Johannesburg, South Africa
Visited in March, 2015
1 review
 
What sets this beach cottage apart from its competition is that it is on the beach, yet it is extremely private and sheltered from the wind under the natural indigenous Milkwood trees.In addition to that it has all the mod cons that you don't normally have in rental accommodation.Blenders,bluetooth music system, bodums ,expresso coffee pots etc.
As for the shower and outside braai area, they make outdoor living fantastic part of the holiday experience.
 
Sleep Quality 4/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 4/5
Service 4/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
30 Jul 2015
5/5 "An amazing beach holiday"
Alex S.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in January, 2015
1 review
 
This amazingly cozy and well appointed house is 30m over the dune from one of the best beaches in South Africa. I have stayed often and never been disappointed. They are not joking about the shower - as you walk off the beach you can warm up or cool down, wander over to the fridge, grab a drink and slump onto a cushion under a milkwood - it really doesn't get better. And the Wilsons are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5
29 Jul 2015
5/5 "The nicest home for a holiday"
Michelle B.
From Cape Town, South Africa
Visited in December, 2014
1 review
 
We have stayed at Wilson's Beach Cottage on many occasions. We keep coming back because simply put is it the nicest house in the village. It has lovely views, is right on the beach and is quite and away from the activity of the main beach. The interior is well equipped. WE love cooking and we like to have good kitchen equipment. This kitchen will not dissappoint. The bedrooms have good beds and lovely linen. The nicest feature for us is the hot outdoor shower which you can hop into as you come off the beach. Oh ... and yes, then there is the downstairs deck under the milkwood trees .... I could go on.
 
Sleep Quality 5/5
Location 5/5
Rooms 5/5
Service 5/5
Value 5/5
Cleanliness 5/5